Veterans Day Reflection Video 3

A Day I will Never Forget

I think one line in this song sums up in a nutshell why our military members are willing to put their lives on the line “you are what I’m fighting for”.  I know each military member joins for their own specific reasons but I like to think that pride in our country and maintaining our way of life here in the United States of America is somewhere near the top of the list also.

There is one part of the song that reminds me of something that I will never forget.  It is the part where the friend he saves sends his mother a letter.  I am not sure if the movies are correct when the military sends someone in dress uniform to inform a family of a death but I do remember one mission I was on.

The Mission Starts

We had just left home base and were about an hr out when we got a radio call saying we had to return to base because there was an emergency with someones wife, they wouldn’t name names.  There were three of us that were married and none of us had a clue as to what was going on, well two of us didn’t anyway.  I remember the things running though my head, what could be wrong with my wife?

Then the doc got a phone patch to the aircraft and asked for Mike, my heart dropped immediately.  The only thing about it, our crew chief was named Mike also.   They got him on the radio and the doc said that he must return immediately and again would not say over the radio why.  I remember the commander, a young Captain in serious turmoil because it was taking so long for our request to turn back to home station to get back to us.  Finally he said “I’m making a command decision” and we turned around.  In normal TACC form, 10 min after we turned, they approved our return.

Something no one wants to See

Now, as I said, none of us knew “what” was wrong, we just knew that something, possibly very bad, had happened.  Well, our suspicions were confirmed as I stepped out of the aircraft to shut down and standing in front of the aircraft, waiting for clearance to board were two officers in dress blues.  No one on the aircraft saw them and I said over the mic “this cant be good” and my commander asked “what”, I stated, “there are two guys out here in dress blues meeting the aircraft, there is only one reason I can think of why they would be here dressed like that”.  They took our crew chief to the side and he got in the car, we loaded his bags in the car and they left.

What Really Happened

We still weren’t quite sure what had happened but we were fairly certain, it is just that no one wanted to ask.  Our new crew chief was given very little time to come in and had returned from a mission just hours before but when told what happened, came in to take the place of our chief.  We asked him what happened and he said that the other chief’s wife was admitted to the hospital with double pneumonia and had passed away.  They had only been married a month or so and she had two children he had already adopted.

The Song

Now, I know this isn’t a letter but this song makes me think of that day every time.  If Mark Schultz never sings another song, this will be a great legacy to leave with our world.  Now I know normally these scenarios don’t end as well as this one does but I still like the song a lot.  Again, as with the last video, it does tell how important letters from home are to every man and woman fighting in a war zone somewhere in the world.

Feel free to comment on any of the videos if you like them or don’t like them.  Let me know what you think about them not just “I don’t like it” or “I love that video”, tell me a little bit of why you feel that way?  I am sending these out to all the people I have connected with on FB, Linked In, Google + etc.  You can comment on the individual page if you like or you can comment here where the video can be seen.  I would like to get a feel for what people are thinking about with each of the videos.  Also, if you have a video or two that you like, share it, maybe someone has never seen it before.  I know I ran across a few that I had never heard of and they have been around for a few years.

Letters from War by Mark Schultz

Please feel free to share the link to any of my pages with anyone you know.

Hero Home Source Information
About madeehr1213

Burlington County Real Estate Sales and Solutions – Michael “Mike” Deehr, REALTOR® Associate, USAF Retired EXIT Realty is the areas fastest growing real estate firms. My team and I specialize in helping buyers and sellers invest in real estate property and homes in Southern New Jersey area including Medford Township, Medford Lakes, Evesham Township, Marlton, Southampton, Vincentown, Tabernacle, Lumberton, Eastampton, Westampton, Shamong, Mount Laurel, Hainesport, and the surrounding areas. (609) 714-EXIT (3948) Office (609) 284-3693 Direct
This entry was posted in Hero Home Source and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

