Veterans Day Videos – This Ones Special

The Mission

This video pretty much sums up how the military veteran lives their lives.  They are on call all the time and pretty much when CNN says something happened around the world, someone is going to call.  As a flyer for 20 yrs, there were times I really didn’t want to answer the phone because I knew what was coming, but I did.  I really enjoyed my military career and would drop everything in a heartbeat if I had to do it again.  I have always taken pride in the United States of America, my father instilled that in me at an early age and it stuck.  I have always been proud to be an American, no matter who is running the country at any given time, I am always proud to be an American.

Affects on the Family

Life in the military in general is difficult to say the least, time away from home that you will never get back, holidays missed, special events, the list goes on.  My oldest son Sheldon and his mother paid the most for it as he was young (so was she btw) when I was in the middle of my career and I missed a whole lot more family events than I would have liked had I had a choice.  Unlike a job at McDonald’s, when they call, you can’t say no just because you don’t want to do it, you raised your hand and swore to protect and defend and that means you can’t pick and choose when you want to go or work.

Being married and raising a family is hard enough for any family and separation is always difficult.  Now throw in the fact that your spouse is going to a place where they will be shooting at someone and they will be shooting back, puts more stress on those left behind.  I admire any family that can stay together throughout someones military career and for those who are raising a family and both are on active duty, I have no idea how you do it.

A New Meaning to Me

As for this video, there is just so much I can say about it, first though is the fact that as of this blog, I still haven’t written the blogs for Fri, Sat or Sun yet but a few minutes ago I was inspired to write this post now.  My son just sent me a text from SC,

“I have a suggestion for one video…American soldier by Toby Keith.  The video is pretty good too.  Makes me think of you every time I hear it”.

I can’t even begin to say how that makes me feel so I am not even going to try. I told him thank you and I had already planned to use this video on Veterans Day.

Why I Like This Video

Toby Keith has done so much for our military troops with so many tours, visits and concerts that I don’t know how he has any time to tour.  It seems that every few months there is something about him doing this concert for the troops, going to this base to visit etc.  I know so many people get “honorary” degrees from universities just for showing up and making one speech, I think we should make Toby an Honorary Soldier for everything he has done for our troops and the spirit of this country.  Just my opinion.

There are so many things in this video that resemble my career, calls at (as we used to say) O Dark Thirty, flying to who knows where and carrying supplies and troops that were needed.  Leaving the family when I know there are going to be events I will miss because of my oath.  Trying to make the most of my time with my family when I was home for the short times I was.  Trying to call my wife so she would not have to worry about if I was ok.  Then the C-17 in the end, the airplane I flew on for 14 years, just so much about it reminds me of times in my career.

The Video

There are actually quite a few versions of this video on youtube but this one I like the most as it tells a story of a whole family and preparing for separation.  It doesn’t focus on just the soldiers of today but all who have fought to make and keep this country as great as it is.  Toby Keith is so passionate in this video too.  I would like to say thank you to each and every veteran that ever served and those that served by my side…Thank you.

Need Some Help

I am asking if you would help me choose the last video to play on Veterans Day at 1900 (Non Military types can ask a Vet what time that is).  I was going to play the Star Spangled Banner (All verses) but as I was going though, I came upon a couple other videos that are very good and would do very nicely as the ending video to my tribute to the Vets.

There is a very good story narration about Francis Scott Key (The Accurate Story Behind the Star Spangled Banner) and what happened on the night he was inspired to write his poem.  I also found a great rendition of Taps (The Final Playing of Taps) and the Star Spangled Banner.  So the choices are those.  You can vote as many times as you would like and tell your friends about it and let them chime in.  I will even let you vote on which version to play of the Star Spangled Banner.  Truth be told, I like all of them but I only have one blog left to write and it will include the video with the highest votes.

American Soldier by Toby Keith

Please feel free to share the link to any of my pages with anyone you know.

Hero Home Source Information
About madeehr1213

Burlington County Real Estate Sales and Solutions – Michael “Mike” Deehr, REALTOR® Associate, USAF Retired EXIT Realty is the areas fastest growing real estate firms. My team and I specialize in helping buyers and sellers invest in real estate property and homes in Southern New Jersey area including Medford Township, Medford Lakes, Evesham Township, Marlton, Southampton, Vincentown, Tabernacle, Lumberton, Eastampton, Westampton, Shamong, Mount Laurel, Hainesport, and the surrounding areas. (609) 714-EXIT (3948) Office (609) 284-3693 Direct
This entry was posted in Hero Home Source and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

