Memorial Days Different Meanings

What is Memorial Day?

Today a good friend of mine posted something that I commented on and I came across a little more hash than I intended.  I didnt mean to jump on them but re-reading my response, I kind of did.  Now, I dont have so many people that are true friends that I can just go around pissing some of them off, but it did get me thinking.

What is Memorial Day?  To some it is a three day weekend with some TV news doing different things showing Memorial Day services here and there and to others it means a little more.  The response I got from my injection was that as a civilian, they do sometimes take this day for granted.  What really gets to me is when military members take it for granted.  I will NEVER go to another Army/Navy arena football game as the last one I went to had over 50 prior and current service members on the two teams.  The disgrace I saw as over half of them did not even put their hands over their hearts for the national anthem is something I will never forget.  If this post gets to any of you, shame on you, that is a total disrespect to all who served before you, with you and after you.

I have even had circumstances where bringing a fallen comrade back on our airplane that members currently serving tried to use the transfer case as a table to play cards on.  So it is not only civilians that take some of these things for granted, we have military members that do too.

Memorial Days Whole New Meaning to Me

I admit that this day did not always mean what it does to me now.  My father served in the Army for 3 yrs but I never even knew it until I was a teenager.  My oldest son from the day he was born to the day he got married only knew that his dad was in the Military.  My two youngest only knew that their dad was in the military up to a couple of yrs ago.  The closer you are, the more it will have a different meaning to it.

Up until today there was one major factor that changed my outlook on Memorial Day.  It was the last mission I went on as a flyer.  It was a mission where we returned 5 fallen comrades back to the US for their final return home.  I have always had a respect for Veterans Day and Memorial Day but some things happened on that mission that changed everything for me.  I still to this day think about that mission and even have dreams about it from time to time, it affected me that much.

Today it took on an even deeper meaning as my 9 yr old son was following around our drill team to ea of the cemeteries in our community.  He was on the opposite side of the cemetery from me but as they played Taps and we all saluted…He put his hand over his heart.  I was no where near him and yet he did it.  When I caught up to him a little later, I was surprised how difficult just saying “Thank you” to a 9 yr old boy can be.  I was so proud.

What it is All About

This is a video that I posted before but it really does symbolize all that today is about.  Please have a safe Memorial Day and if you get a chance, just think about those who have given the ultimate sacrifice so you can enjoy this day.

To all who came before me, served with me and will continue to serve this great nation….THANK YOU.

 

About madeehr1213

Burlington County Real Estate Sales and Solutions – Michael “Mike” Deehr, REALTOR® Associate, USAF Retired EXIT Realty is the areas fastest growing real estate firms. My team and I specialize in helping buyers and sellers invest in real estate property and homes in Southern New Jersey area including Medford Township, Medford Lakes, Evesham Township, Marlton, Southampton, Vincentown, Tabernacle, Lumberton, Eastampton, Westampton, Shamong, Mount Laurel, Hainesport, and the surrounding areas. (609) 714-EXIT (3948) Office (609) 284-3693 Direct
This entry was posted in Fire Fighters, Hero Home Source, Military, Military, Police, Real Estate, Teacher and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

