Military Support – The Hug Lady

Hugs for Soldiers

I saw this story on Facebook and realized I had to figure out a way to put this into my Veterans Day blogs.  This lady does something pretty extraordinary.  This story made me think of 1990 and the welcome home that the troops got in Westover MA upon return.  This was the first time since Vietnam that our military faced actual deployment on such a massive scale and all of our troops at that time came back through Westover.

Returning Home

When the troops returned from overseas and came through Westover, they went to great lengths to show their appreciation for the soldiers returning.  They would show up in huge numbers and line the hanger waiting for the soldiers to get off the plane.  There would be a lot of food donated by the local stores and they would let out one or two of the local grades at the schools to come and welcome home the men and women from their deployment.  All in all it was just a great atmosphere for the soldiers returning.

rbk-troops-returning-home-0712-2-lgn0225_local_return01_standalone_prod_affiliate_36Woman hugging child

I remember one place in particular that had a huge roll of paper and each soldier returning would sign somewhere on the paper, once it was full to a point, they rolled out more.  I signed it the first time I went through and then later, I decided not to sign it as I had before and was told by one of the people there that I needed to sign it no matter how many times I came though.  They dated each section and had a record of who went through on each day.  I wonder what ever happened to that huge scroll of paper?

There is Still love for our Military

Though it doesnt happen as much as it did, there are still celebrations for returning military members.  They may not be on the grand scheme as they once were but they are still out there.  Most of them are the small towns holding something small for the veterans but people do still care.  The deployments have been going on for over 20 years now but I still love it when I see or read about someplace that has done something special for the men and women returning from war.

The Hug Lady

I had never heard of this lady or what she did until recently and I must say, it is a very heartwarming story.  This lady has been dedicated to our military longer than many reading this have been alive.  It is always nice to come home to family but I am willing to bet that not one soldier deploying or returning through her station will ever forget her, even if it was only once, she will have left a lasting impression on each and everyone.

Please feel free to leave a reply at the bottom and tell me what you think of any of my blogs.  If any military veterans or those currently serving would like to share some of their experiences, I would welcome the sharing of your experiences.

 

Hero Home Source:  For Military, Police, Fire Fighter and Teacher rebate incentives contact Mike Deehr Exit Realty
About madeehr1213

Burlington County Real Estate Sales and Solutions – Michael “Mike” Deehr, REALTOR® Associate, USAF Retired EXIT Realty is the areas fastest growing real estate firms. My team and I specialize in helping buyers and sellers invest in real estate property and homes in Southern New Jersey area including Medford Township, Medford Lakes, Evesham Township, Marlton, Southampton, Vincentown, Tabernacle, Lumberton, Eastampton, Westampton, Shamong, Mount Laurel, Hainesport, and the surrounding areas. (609) 714-EXIT (3948) Office (609) 284-3693 Direct
This entry was posted in Fire Fighters, Hero Home Source, Military, Military, Police, Real Estate, Teacher and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

