History – Star Spangled Banner

The United States Flag

What does the flag mean to you?  Take a minute and think about it.  What the flag means to me is pride in our country.  It always had, even since a child.  My dad instilled in me the importance of respect for the flag, especially during the playing the Star Spangled Banner.  He actually told me that if he ever went to one of my sporting events and saw me not put my hand over my heart, he would never come to another of my events.  Maybe a little harsh but I have always had the respect for our country.  I have always been proud to be from this country and even served for 24 yrs in the Air Force to defend that flag.

Defending our way of Life

The men and women of the United States Military are very proud of what our flag stands for.  Our flag has withstood many battles and has been carried proudly for over 200 years and will hopefully stand proudly for 200 more.  Yes the men and women of the military are defending our rights and freedoms but even more, they are defending the Red White and Blue that we all wear proudly on our uniforms.

Respect for the Flag

In the beginning of this video the man makes a statement about looking around and seeing people not willing to take 3 min out of their social time to pay respects to what our flag stands for.  Yes it bothers me when I look and see people talking and not putting their hands over their hearts and I just don’t get it.  I actually root for the Superbowl team that has the most players and coaches with their hands over their hearts when my Steelers are not in the game.

Some have heard me say it before but the most disgusted I ever was came at an indoor football game last year in Philly.  I was stoked to see the first indoor Army-Navy game being played.  I didn’t stay through the first quarter and should have left earlier.  The men on the team were all military or prior military and during the national anthem, less than half of them bothered to put their hands over their hearts and stand at attention.  You cannot believe the amount of anger I felt seeing these men, who once wore the uniform so proudly, acting in such a disrespectful way.  I was appalled.

The National Anthem – The Star Spangled Banner

I don’t remember the first time I saw this but when I did, I really liked it.  Now I know there are more than one story behind the Star Spangled Banner but I do like this version of the story.

I do know a couple of things, first the Star Spangled Banner was written as a poem initially and second it was Francis Scott Key who put pen to paper and write it.  That is all that I know that is fact, the rest of the story I am sure is open to interpretation.  I hope you like the little story that is told here and maybe, just maybe, if you are one of those who does not put your hand over your heart during the playing of our National Anthem, you will change your mind by helping those of us who have defended your right to not put your hand over your heart, and start doing it yourself.

Please feel free to leave a reply at the bottom and tell me what you think of any of my blogs.  If any military veterans or those currently serving would like to share some of their experiences, I would welcome the sharing of your experiences.

 

 

Hero Home Source:  For Military, Police, Fire Fighter and Teacher rebate incentives contact Mike Deehr Exit Realty
About madeehr1213

Burlington County Real Estate Sales and Solutions – Michael “Mike” Deehr, REALTOR® Associate, USAF Retired EXIT Realty is the areas fastest growing real estate firms. My team and I specialize in helping buyers and sellers invest in real estate property and homes in Southern New Jersey area including Medford Township, Medford Lakes, Evesham Township, Marlton, Southampton, Vincentown, Tabernacle, Lumberton, Eastampton, Westampton, Shamong, Mount Laurel, Hainesport, and the surrounding areas. (609) 714-EXIT (3948) Office (609) 284-3693 Direct
This entry was posted in Fire Fighters, Hero Home Source, Military, Military, Police, Real Estate, Teacher and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

