Memorial Day Leadup

Well, it is that time of year again, Memorial Day is soon approaching and I have done a little blogging to commemorate some things I feel about the service and some memories. I also include some videos that I like. I stated this two years ago around Veterans Day and I was doing two blogs per day for a week. That was fun and challenging. Things have changed a bit over the last couple years and I am lucky if I can keep up with one per day but I started something that I like and I will continue to do it at least for one more year.

I know many people think of Memorial Day as a three day weekend and that it is. It signifies remembering all of the sacrifices people have made over the life of this country and what it means to serve and to be a part of a brotherhood that has lost so many. In our area here in New Jersey, it starts today. The VFW’s throughout the state do a commemoration at the Beverly Cemetery and our VFW proudly serves in whatever capacity that they require us to do. This year, we carried the colors and though most of us are broken down old men and women by now, we did a pretty good job in my mind representing our fallen comrades.

As I looked out today over the many, many grave markers at the cemetery, it became quite humbling thinking about all of the men and women who have come before me. Not everyone of course died in action but they have at least seen the action. The cemetery we were at today has people from as far back as the Civil War buried there and to think of all the blood, sweat and tears that have been shed throughout the years really made me feel very humbled and extremely proud at the same time that I at least share a small bond with anyone and everyone who has ever served this great nation.

I am going to start out this blog with a video that I really like. You can tell by the men and women who are also singing along with their branches fight song how proud they are to be serving with their branch. Each branch of course has its own fight song and if you have ever been to a military ceremony, changes are pretty good that their song will be sung. Also, I think KISS does an amazing job with this.

 

About madeehr1213

Burlington County Real Estate Sales and Solutions – Michael “Mike” Deehr, REALTOR® Associate, USAF Retired EXIT Realty is the areas fastest growing real estate firms. My team and I specialize in helping buyers and sellers invest in real estate property and homes in Southern New Jersey area including Medford Township, Medford Lakes, Evesham Township, Marlton, Southampton, Vincentown, Tabernacle, Lumberton, Eastampton, Westampton, Shamong, Mount Laurel, Hainesport, and the surrounding areas. (609) 714-EXIT (3948) Office (609) 284-3693 Direct
This entry was posted in Fire Fighters, Hero Home Source, Military, Military, Police, Teacher, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

