Memorial Day

On this final day with this final blog for this Memorial Day, I thought I would put in a couple of videos. The first is the detail team that is picking up the soldier and transporting them from the aircraft to the transportation vehicle. And the second one is almost impossible to explain unless you have attended a funeral where this has taken place. I will say that I am happy I started doing these videos and posts for Memorial Day and Veterans Day. I cant explain what it does but it is kind of a soothing experience when I do it. I know that some of the videos are already being repeated but these videos actually trigger some of the memories I have had in what I do consider to be and amazing 24 years of defending this great country.

Today our VFW will be doing the final ceremonies that have been ongoing throughout the weekend. I participated in many of the events and it was very much an honor to be a part of each and every one of them. Today finalizes with the parade here in Medford and then a final salute to the soldiers lost  in a small ceremony at the VFW. I will say this, our VFW is truly the Tip of the Spear. I know many of my comrades see that line being overused and many times, in accurately used by leaders in the military. But in Post 7677, we do really lead the way in so many local events. Our post has participated in 13 events throughout the area this weekend honoring our fallen comrades. We do many events for families in the local area and support many other veteran causes. We have many proud members of our post and it shows with the amount of things we do to support our local communities in the area.

The men and women have a very important job when it comes to this event. I have never been on one of the details for this but I have witnessed the transporting of the body and it really does make a lasting impression on you. I can still see these events like they only happened yesterday. I will admit that there are many details about many of my missions that I do not remember but I do remember the transporting of the Human Remains that left my aircraft.

 

As for the next video, every time I have encountered this ceremony/tribute, I get chills. I know firemen and police officers have a similar ceremony they do for their fallen comrades and it has the same effect on me as our last roll call ceremony. Like I said in the opening paragraph, if you have never witnessed one of these first hand, I wont be able to explain it to you. It is just impossible to explain.

About madeehr1213

Burlington County Real Estate Sales and Solutions – Michael “Mike” Deehr, REALTOR® Associate, USAF Retired EXIT Realty is the areas fastest growing real estate firms. My team and I specialize in helping buyers and sellers invest in real estate property and homes in Southern New Jersey area including Medford Township, Medford Lakes, Evesham Township, Marlton, Southampton, Vincentown, Tabernacle, Lumberton, Eastampton, Westampton, Shamong, Mount Laurel, Hainesport, and the surrounding areas. (609) 714-EXIT (3948) Office (609) 284-3693 Direct
This entry was posted in Fire Fighters, Hero Home Source, Military, Military, Police, Teacher, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

